Standing on a sandstone rock found in the northern sections of the city of Nuremberg, the Nuremberg Castle is soaked in rich history and architecture, which makes it as one of the renowned fortresses in Europe.
The Nuremberg Castle encompasses three sections, as that of the imperial castle, some buildings pertaining to the Burgraves of Nuremberg as well as the municipal buildings related to the Imperial city spotted at the eastern site.
The first mention of this castle dates back to 1105, as the Kaisers as well as the kings belonging to the Holy Roman Empire had dwelled at the palace from 1050 to 1571. When Nuremberg had been converted to an Imperial Free City in the 13th century, the city took over the care pertaining to the castle.
The Luginsland Tower that was constructed during 1377 stands out today, and the Nuremberg Castle got damaged during 1944-45, the period concerning the Second World War, with the Sinwell Tower and the Roman double chapel remaining intact.
The state rooms in the Nuremberg Castle have been furnished with tapestries, paintings and furniture that belong to the 16th and the 17th centuries.
The historical form of the castle was restored after the Second World War under the direction of Julius Lincke and Rudolf Easterer. The eastern municipal buildings pertaining to the castle serve as a youth hostel, as of today.